Boston, MA
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Boston, MA

Discuss issues and concerns about the City of Boston, Massachusetts here!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Freedom of Information and Transparency

Go down 
AuthorMessage
TheWiredJournal

TheWiredJournal

Freedom of Information and Transparency  Empty
PostSubject: Freedom of Information and Transparency    Freedom of Information and Transparency  EmptySat Dec 10, 2011 3:42 pm

As an unemployed carpenter I recently attempted to obtain information on construction projects both in the planning stage, current procurements being bid on and previously won bids that are listed through the state government.
There are two bulletins or publications that I know of put out by the State:

One is called "The Goods and Services Bulletin", which lists all procurements involving everything that the state’s cities and towns need to function and operate. Everything from toilet paper to pens and stationary and everything in-between.

The other is “The Massachusetts Central Register” which is a list of construction projects and procurement's being put out by every city and town across the state. From the pre-planning stages (seeking architects and engineers and planners surveyor's ) right on down to general contractors and sub contractors; plumbers, painters, carpenters etc. and a list of the company names of bidders and the winning bidders.

These bi-weekly reports use to be free for the general public to view at any local library reference department in hard copy form. Both of these are now no longer available in hard copy form to local libraries due to cost issues.

Here’s my issue:

Neither are available or viewable on line at or through the local libraries or their web sites and in order to have access to them the state charges individuals outrageous amounts of money for digital subscriptions.